It will make you a better mom…

I have been thinking lately about how too much is expected of moms these days.  We expect that we should be able to do it all, job, kids, cook and clean like Martha Stewart…….  We are trying to do so much at once, that something suffers. 

I had been chatting with a friend of mine who is a recent single mom to 2 young children.  She said she was overwhelmed with life these days and having trouble managing the kids.  She said she feels so guilty about feeling that she needs a break from her kids.  She said, “I just want to go for a 30 min walk by myself.” I laughed, as just that morning I said to my husband, I wanted to go for a run, but felt guilty about taking half an hour away from the kids on my day off work (he told me I was ridiculous and to get my shoes on and go by the way!). 

Why is it that moms feel like there is something wrong with having a little bit of time to themselves?  It is essential that we take time to work on mom’s “identity”.  We are first and foremost a mom, but we are so many other things as well, a daughter, a sister, a friend, a runner, an athlete, a doctor….the list goes on.  Schedule in some “mom” time (hopefully to be active), you deserve it!! 

HOW?  It is easier said than done to schedule some time isn’t it?  Here are some ideas:

1) try a “kid” swap.  My friend (mentioned above) and I have a day now once a week or so that we watch each other’s kids.  That way, the kids have a blast playing with friends, and she and I get to have an hour or so to ourselves. 

2) Another idea that came from one of our members was to start a walking group while the kids are at their activities.  Her kids are old enough that they could stay at their dance lessons without a parent, so she and some other moms would go for a 30 min walk and then return to see the last 15 mins of their children’s class. What a great idea!

3) Leave them at home with Dad!  I am lucky to have a great husband that encourages my interests and hangs out with the kids while I am doing whatever I am doing.  Let dad take his turn with the kids on a regular basis to allow you time and allow him to get closer to the kids.  Oh, and dad will do things differently than you.  If you want your “mom” time to continue, don’t criticize the fact that they had “Zoodles” for lunch while you were out!!

Keep active, and don’t feel guilty about it!!!!!!

Deanna

Leave a Reply

