My running shoes are staring at me!

…and I’m staring right back!

image source

But it’s right, we should be out there right now training for the big day coming up (March 25, 2012)!

I hope you didn’t miss your chance to sign up for this year’s Around the Bay Road Race!  Registration is full for all distances accept 5k, which I’m sure will fill up quite soon.  One of my friends is still trying to buy off a 30k ticket from anyone who cannot participate for some unforeseen reason – so if you know someone selling, please let me know.  Otherwise, she’ll join us on the big day with a 5k.

I’m the one who pressured her to run the 30k race, she did it last year and performed superbly but wasn’t so sure about repeating the effort!  Luckily, she has lovely friends around her, such as myself, to ensure she doesn’t miss ongoing positive peer pressure!  But she’s a runner already, so I’m only a little bit annoying!

Whether or not you are currently physically active, I hope you have a good circle of friends around you that encourage positive, healthy choices.  If you like to be more physically active, it’s a good idea to surround yourself with people who share that same desire.  It IS more fun to go for a jog or a walk or the gym or whatever, when you have a pal or two by your side striving along with you.

I do the majority of my runs alone since my running friends live too far and my scheduling doesn’t permit joining our awesome running group at YWCA.  So when I do have someone to run with it’s a treat!  That’s another reason why races are fun, running with hundreds of people just totally elevates the awesomeness of running!

image source

Okay, I’m going to have a talk with my running shoes.  I’ll let you know how that goes….

-Marlin

Leave a Reply

