How about living DIET FREE for a healthier you?

How about living DIET FREE for a healthier you?
True confession: SOME fitness instructors slack off occasionally! At least this one does! And my favourite way to slack off is to hang out at home watching situation comedies on TV that I have seen so many times I can quote the dialogue verbatim. So that’s how it all started last weekend. I was channel surfing and noticed something called “Diet Free” on the channel guide. The cynical me thought, “Right. Another diet scam infomercial,’’ until I noticed the program was playing on the Buffalo PBS station, WNED. Hmmmm…..maybe there was something more to this? So I tuned in and I have to tell you, I am ON FIRE about this program!

DIET FREE was developed by an American dietitian, Zonya Foco. Not only was she an engaging and knowledgeable speaker, but her ideas are simple and make total sense. In a nutshell, she claims that if you can adopt her 8 healthy lifestyle habits, you can lower your cholesterol, lower your blood pressure, reduce your risk of diabetes, heart disease, certain cancers, and if you are overweight, you can lose 10-50 pounds over a year—without dieting! I don’t know about you, but my ears really perked up when I heard this. Her program has you focus on one healthy habit each week, gradually incorporating all 8 over an 8-week period.
So what is DIET FREE? It is an acronym that stands for:

Drink water first.
Include breakfast.
Eat often.
Tame your sweet tooth.

Find the fat.
Replace processed foods with wholesome foods.
Eat until no longer hungry.
Every day, exercise.

Sounds simple, right? Well, if you’re like me, you might have one or two bad habits that could use a little “tweaking.” I’ve listened to her talk, and I know which of these habits are going to be a challenge for me. But I’m up for the challenge! How about you? Would you like to join me over the next 8 weeks and try out the DIET FREE lifestyle? Stay tuned to this blog, or look for my “Thank Goodness It’s Monday” posts in the Fitness Centre (on the post near the announcements chalkboard). Each week I will share some of Zonya’s tips (and maybe even add a few of my own!), as I embark on a DIET FREE life! If you want to read more, check out Zonya’s website: http://www.zonya.com.

Yours in health,
Wendy

Leave a Reply

