My Breast Cancer Story: Stay Positive Always

October Breast Cancer Awareness Month
ywcaencore Stories of Inspiration & Hope

After 24 years of marriage and three boys, my life was turned upside down when I found a lump in my left breast at age 47. This was completely shocking as there was no history of breast cancer in my family.

After taking all the tests and receiving the bad news all I wanted to do was lead a normal life. I continued to work as an administrative assistant during my treatments. I never kept my breast cancer a secret, and found that the more people that knew, the more support I received from family, friends and co-workers. After a few chemo treatments, I was not able to work for a few months because my body was telling me to rest.

Almost immediately, my hair, which according to my husband I have spent a small fortune on in my life, started falling out. During this difficult time in my life, my youngest son, while away on a hockey tournament, shaved the heads of his teammates and coaches. They also wore breast cancer ribbons on their jerseys in support of me.

When I completed all my chemo and radiation treatments, I joined the ywcaencore program and connected with a great group of girls and very special coordinators. I really enjoyed meeting with them each week as we exercised, ate healthy prepared snacks, and, most important, discussed our journey amongst ourselves with some emotional crying and happy moments. You gain so much support by sharing experiences, thoughts and fears with other women fighting the same battle.

I am now a 20-month survivor, and loving life to its fullest…breast cancer has sure changed my outlook on life!

Stay Positive Always,
Donna Beattie

BE SURE TO CHECK BACK FOR MORE MOVING BREAST CANCER STORIES THROUGHOUT OCTOBER

Leave a Reply

